Future OTA Leaders Take the Next Step in their Leadership Journey

The Ontario Trucking Association (OTA) has elected 16 current and future leaders from the trucking industry to take leadership roles as members of the OTA Board and OTA’s Leadership Education and Development (LEAD) Committee for the upcoming 2020-2022 term.

OTA originally awarded two non-voting seats on the OTA Board to the co-chairs of its LEAD Committee in 2018 (one supplier and one carrier representative). This year OTA’s Nominations Committee committed to increasing the engagement of youth on the Board by adding an additional four non-voting positions for the upcoming Board term.

The Officers elected to the LEAD Committee, and named non-voting representatives on the OTA Board for the upcoming two-year term, include:

  • Jason Smith, J.D. Smith and Sons (LEAD Co-Chair)
  • Peter Stefanovich, Left Lane Associates (LEAD Co-Chair)
  • Stephanie Carruth, ONE for Freight
  • Kyle Erb, Erb Group of Companies
  • Sukhy Hayre, XTL Transport Inc.
  • Reagan Seymour, Kriska Holdings Ltd.

The individuals that were selected as at-large members of the LEAD Committee for the 2020-2022 term include:

  • Megan Berry, Premier Bulk Systems
  • Nick Empey, Cooney Group of Companies
  • Sue Ann Corrighan, Tandet Management Inc.
  • Lindsay Di Giovanni, C.A.T. Inc.
  • Mohammad Khan, ISAAC Instruments
  • Bonnie Parkinson, XTL Transport Inc.
  • Jim Pereira, Onfreight Logistics
  • Marcus Sconci, BDO Canada LLP
  • Melissa Skelton, Skelton Truck Lines
  • Mitchell Thibert, Contrans Flatbed Group

The criteria used by the selection committee included: the successful completion of OTA’s LEAD programs; aspirations to be future OTA Board members; a strong drive to promote OTA’s programs; diversity, and representation from fleets of various sizes/regions across the province, amongst other criteria.

“This is a great opportunity to work and collaborate with the OTA and top leaders in trucking,” said Jason Smith. “All of the newly-appointed Next Gen/LEAD reps are looking forward to serving as the bridge between them and the promising individuals coming up across the industry.”

Added Peter Stefanovich: “I’m excited to engage young leaders in the thriving and constantly evolving transportation and supply chain sectors. I look forward to building on the foundation of the LEAD Committee and helping to expand our platform of successful young ambassadors across our industry.”

OTA’s LEAD Committee was formed as a way for Next Generation program graduates to be engaged in industry outreach and networking initiatives, assist in developing new programs, and other activities to connect and engage youth in our industry. In early 2021, the committee will meet to discuss key initiatives and goals for the committee to focus on over the next two years.

OTA would like to thank Nominations Committee members: Dan Einwechter of Challenger Motor Freight Inc., James Steed of Steed Standard Transport Limited and outgoing LEAD committee co-chairs, Ryan Tilley of the Tandet Group, and John Foss of Trailcon Leasing Inc. for their contributions during the selection process. As newly named OTA Vice-Chair, James Steed will sit on the LEAD Committee as its Board representative for the upcoming term.

OTA would especially like to thank Ryan Tilley and John Foss ffor their hard work and dedication as LEAD committee co-Chairs for the last two years. Both individuals can remain on OTA’s LEAD committee and Board as immediate past-chairs for the 2020-2022 term.

In addition, OTA has been actively working with both the Humphrey Group and the Schulich School of Business on potentially bringing back the Next Generation and OTA-SEEC programs through a virtual format for 2021. Although no decisions have been made, members can expect more information to be available in the coming weeks.

For additional information regarding OTA’s LEAD Committee or LEAD Programs, or how to get involved in these initiatives, please contact lak.shoan@ontruck.org


Scroll to Top