Freeze Up Period Areas 2 & 3 Announced


The Ontario Ministry of Transportation has designated Monday Jan. 12 the commencement of the freeze-up period for the Raw Forest products Allowance in Area 3.

All areas east of the City of Kawartha Lakes – Durham Region – Northumberland County Line and south of a line from Seven Bridge to eat of Hwy 35 at Minden, then north on the east side of Hwy 35 to south of Hwy 60, then east on the south side of Hwy 60 to Cache Lake and in a straight line including Hwy 60 through Pembroke to the Ottawa River.

Click here for an illustrated map of Zone 3: Freeze-up Zone 3 Notification

Last week, on Jan. 6, the freeze up for Area 2a also went into effect, which designates the area bounded by:

A straight line along western Algoma District from the north shore of Lake Superior north intersecting Hwy 17, at about 6 km west of the Hwy 17 and 631 junction,a nd north through Hwy 11 about 2 km west of the Pagwachuan River, then due east in a straight line to the Quebec border to the south side of Hwy 101 to the western boundary at Hwy 17, then west in a line to the Algoma District boundary.

Click here for an illustrated map of Zone 2: Freeze-Up Period for Area 2 Zone 2a

Scroll to Top