Outstanding high-school Graduates head to University and College with Trucking Foundation Scholarships


Recipients of OTA Education Foundation scholarships, which are earmarked for exceptional first-year post-secondary students, have been awarded to four high-achieving students for the 2020/2021 academic year. 

 “We are continually amazed at the quality of applicants we have each and every year for these four prestigious scholarships that include assessment criteria that go well beyond academic achievements,” said Betsy Sharples, executive director of the OTA Education Foundation. The scholarships are awarded to students who exhibit an impressive balance between academic performance, service to community, and strong personal values. 

“Equally impressive is the fact that in addition to extra-curricular commitments to community and personal growth, academically speaking, this year’s winners graduated from high school with average grades that ranged from 86% to 98%.”

The JO Goodman, Bud Barr, and George P. Ledson Scholarships are awarded to first-year university applicants, while the CV Hoar Scholarship is awarded to a first-year college applicant. 

The JO Goodman Scholarship was awarded to Liliana Austin of Brampton, Ontario. Her application was sponsored by PGL Truck Centre., where Liliana’s mother has worked in administration for 17 years. Graduating with the second-highest average in her class, Liliana is most proud of her contributions as a Teen Mentor, a Peer Tutor, and the founder of a French reading program. She is enrolled in biomedical sciences at the University of Ottawa.

The Bud Barr Scholarship was awarded to Stephanie Evans of Burlington, Ontario. Her application was sponsored by Canada Cartage, where Stephanie’s father, a senior director of business development, has been employed for 15 years. Stephanie is pursuing an Honours Bachelor of Science degree (Life Sciences) at McMaster University, after which her next goal is to attain a PhD in Neuroscience, and to become a mental health advocate.

The George P. Ledson Scholarship was awarded to Sarah Johnson of Thorold, Ontario. Her application was sponsored by Paddock Transport International., where Sarah’s father has been employed as an AZ driver for 12 years. As a child, Sarah accompanied her father on trips, during which Sarah learned to appreciate the job of her father and other drivers. Sarah is enrolled in the Medical Professional Stream at Trent University, where she is studying for a Bachelor of Science degree. 

The CV Hoar Scholarship was awarded to John Fitzgibbon Campbell of Waterdown, Ontario. His application was sponsored by Trimac Transportation, where John’s father, an area manager, has been employed for 21 years. John is studying television and film production at Fanshawe College.

All scholarship recipients are selected from qualifying applications from students who are entering their first year of post-secondary studies at public universities or colleges. In addition to the Goodman, Barr, Ledson, and Hoar scholarships, 34 general university and college scholarships for 2020 were previously awarded to students who submitted applications sponsored by Ontario-based trucking and allied trade companies where applicants’ parents work.

General scholarships, including the Goodman, Barr, Ledson, and Hoar scholarships, are funded by annual donations, which, in large part, come from Ontario trucking and allied trades companies. The number of scholarships awarded each year is dependent on the amount that the Foundation receives in donations. For more information on the Foundation or to make a donation, go to: www.otaef.com.

The J.O. Goodman Scholarship is named for Joe Goodman, who for 44 years was Senior Staff Executive of the Ontario Trucking Association (OTA).  He served as the Foundation’s Executive Director from its beginning in 1958 until 1978.

The Bud Barr Scholarship is named for William (Bud) Barr, who served as the Foundation’s Executive Director from 1992 to 2005, following his retirement from a long career in the Ontario trucking industry. The scholarship honours the memory of Bud Barr, who passed away in 2009. 

The George P. Ledson Scholarship is named for George Ledson, who until his resignation in 2015, served as a director on the Foundation’s board for 20 years.

The C. V. Hoar Scholarship is named for Charles Hoar, who is one of the founding members of the OTA Education Foundation and who led the Foundation into its current form when he helped establish the J.O. Goodman Awards in 1979.

Scroll to Top