Deadline Approaching for OTA Foundation Scholarship Applications


Students and parents are being encouraged to browse the OTA Education Foundation’s website ( to download application forms for Education Foundation scholarships. Students can apply for general university or college scholarships in the amounts of $1,500 and $1,000 respectively to help them fund their tuition and other academic fees.

General applicants must meet all eligibility criteria, which includes having the application sponsored by an Ontario trucking or trucking services/supply company that employs or contracts a parent of the applicant. Students must also submit their applications by the deadline of July 15 in order to be considered.

Students entering their first year of post-secondary directly from high school are eligible to apply for the J.O. Goodman, the Bud Barr, George P. Ledson, or the C.V. Hoar Awards. While the same application form can be used, there are additional requirements. Applicants are assessed on criteria which include academic achievement, service to community, and participation in extra-curricular activities. Winners for these awards are chosen by the Foundation’s Selection Committee.

Endowed Scholarships also available

Post-secondary students are also urged to look at the scholarship opportunities under the Foundation’s endowed scholarship program. These scholarships have been established by trucking and service supply companies through endowments that are managed by the Foundation, and reflect the priorities and values of the companies that established them.

Students can apply for as many scholarships as they want, and are eligible to receive more than one.

Bison Transport Scholarship: Awarded to a full-time student enrolled in a recognized Transportation, Logistics, Human Resources or Business program at a Canadian University or College.

The Erb Group of Companies “Service to Community” Scholarship: Awarded to a first-year post-secondary student enrolled in a recognized college or university, who demonstrates a commitment to his/her community, through his/her involvement in community and/or charitable volunteer work.

J.D. Smith & Sons “Leaders of Tomorrow” Scholarship: Awarded to a university student who demonstrates a commitment to his/her community, school or other volunteer undertaking while demonstrating exemplary leadership qualities.

OTA Allied Trades Scholarships: Awarded to one university student and one college student, who have completed at least one year of post-secondary education, and who has demonstrated a strong commitment to his/her academic performance.

OTA Professional Driver Memorial Scholarship Award: Awarded in the memory of a true truck hero, David Virgoe, who lost his life in a crash caused by street racers, for children of Ontario truck drivers who are killed or seriously injured on the road.

General scholarships (including the J.O. Goodman, Bud Barr, George P. Ledson, and C.V. Hoar awards) are funded by annual donations, which, in large part, come from Ontario trucking and allied trades companies. The number of scholarships awarded each year is dependent on the amount that the Foundation receives in donations. To download the 2015/2016 application package or to make a donation, go to

Endowed scholarships are funded by the companies that established them. Recipients are chosen by the Foundation’s Selection Committee.

Scroll to Top